The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research

The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research is awarded annually by Lund University Diabetes Centre (LUDC) to a young investigator in the field of diabetes research who is active in any of the Nordic countries (Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Iceland).

The prize money of 100,000 SEK is awarded for “scientific excellence that will benefit patients suffering from diabetes”. It may be used freely by the recipient for diabetes research and is paid into the recipient’s university account.
To be eligible for the award, the recipient must be no older than 45 years on December 31st in the year when the award is announced. 

The recipient must personally accept the award at the annual Diabetes Research Day at LUDC where the recipient will give a lecture on a topic of his or her choice.

It is possible to nominate anyone who fulfil the eligibility criteria above for the award. Requests for nominations are sent out by the committee in October to a number of senior academic scientists with an interest in diabetes.

The award was instigated by the Diabetes Programme at Lund University (DPLU) in 2004. It was felt that diabetes research in the Nordic countries would benefit from an award that recognises the work of a young successful investigator. The award is meant to serve as an inspiration to others.

The Leif C. Groop award was formerly known as the DPLU/LUDC Nordic prize for an outstanding young diabetes investigator. In 2016, the award was renamed as a tribute to Professor Leif Groop as he retired from Lund University. 
The award is currently awarded by LUDC. Novo Nordisk Scandinavia AB contributed significantly to the award during 2016−2021.

The Leif C. Groop award committee

The committee consists of distinguished diabetes scientists from the Nordic countries. Together, they cover the field of diabetes research from prevention to treatment and ultimately cure.

Marju Orho-Melander, Chair, Lund University
Malin Flodström Tullberg, Karolinska Institutet
Torben Hansen, University of Copenhagen
Trond Jenssen, University of Oslo
Tiinamaija Tuomi, University of Helsinki
Allan Vaag, Lund University 
Jussi Pihlajamäki, University of Eastern Finland
Riitta Lahesmaa, University of Turku


Marju Orho-Melander
Chair of the Leif C. Groop award committee

marju [dot] orho-melander [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

+46 707 39 82 89
+46 40 39 12 10