The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Prize Winner 2022

Myriam Aouadi, PI and associate professor

Centre for Infectious Medicine at Karolinska Institutet

Photo of the researcher in the lab.
Myriam Aouadi, a researcher in immunometabolism at Karolinska Institutet, receives the Leif C. Groop prize for scientific excellence that will benefit patients with type 2 diabetes. Photo: Karolinska Institutet

Prize motivation

Myriam Aouadi at Karolinska Institutet is the recipient of the Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research 2022 for her major contributions in the field of targeted gene silencing and immunometabolism. Myriam Aouadi’s work has widened the understanding of macrophage heterogeneity, obesity-related inflammation and paved the way for the use of molecular approaches in finding new treatments for obese patients with type 2 diabetes and liver disease.