Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research

Formerly known as the DPLU/LUDC Nordic Prize for an outstanding young diabetes investigator, sponsored by NovoNordisk Scandinavia

The Prize was instigated by the Diabetes Programme at Lund University (DPLU) in 2004. It was felt that Diabetes REsearch in the Nordic countries would benefit from the recognition of a prize given to a young and successful investigator. The prize should serve as an inspiration to others.

The prize is awarded annually to an investigator in the broad field of Diabetes Research, who is active in any of the Nordic countries: Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland. The recipient must be no older than 45 years to be eligible for the prize. In 2016, the prize was rechristended as The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research, as a tribute to Professor Leif Groop, upon his retirement from Lund University. The prize is awarded for "scientific excellence that will benefit patients suffering from diabetes". The award is raised to 100.000 SEK. The recipient must personally accept the prize at the annual Diabetes Research Day held at Lund University. A lecture on a topic of choice will be given by the recipient.

The recipient is chosen by a prize committee consisting of the previous awardees after nominations from the scientific diabetes community. The decision is announced in December every year.

Lund University Diabetes Centre, CRC, SUS Malmö, Entrance 72, House 91:12. SE-205 02 Malmö. Telephone: +46 40 39 10 00