Your browser has javascript turned off or blocked. This will lead to some parts of our website to not work properly or at all. Turn on javascript for best performance.

The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research

Formerly known as the DPLU/LUDC Nordic Prize for an outstanding young diabetes investigator, made possible by Novo Nordisk Scandinavia

The Prize was instigated by the Diabetes Programme at Lund University (DPLU) in 2004. It was felt that Diabetes Research in the Nordic countries would benefit from the recognition of a prize given to a young and successful investigator. The prize should serve as an inspiration to others.

The prize is awarded annually to an investigator in the broad field of Diabetes Research, who is active in any of the Nordic countries: Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland. The recipient must be no older than 45 years to be eligible for the prize. In 2016, the prize was rechristended as The Leif C. Groop award for outstanding diabetes research, as a tribute to Professor Leif Groop, upon his retirement from Lund University. The prize is awarded for "scientific excellence that will benefit patients suffering from diabetes". The award is raised to 100.000 SEK. It is intended for enhanced professional development, as in future education, training and/or research providing added value for health care.
The recipient must personally accept the prize at the annual Diabetes Research Day held at Lund University. A lecture on a topic of choice will be given by the recipient.

The committee tor the Leif C. Groop award consists of distinguished diabetes scientists from the Nordic countries. Jointly, they cover the field of diabetes research from bedside to the clinic, from molecule to population, from prevention over therapy to cure.

Bryndis Birnir (Uppsala University)
Malin Flodström Tullberg (Karolinska Institute)
Torben Hansen (Copenhagen University)
Trond Jenssen (Oslo University)
Tiinamaija Tuomi (University of Helsinki)
Allan Vaag (Copenhagen University)
Jussi Pihlajamäki (University of Eastern Finland)j
Marju Orho-Melander (Chair, Lund University)

The prize is open for nominations from anyone interested in the field of diabetes ressearch. In addition, requests for nominations are sent out in September to all academic scientists known by the committee to be active in the field of diabetes research.